Certificación BREEAM

Origin and objective of the certification

The BREEAM certification was created in 1990 and is a sustainability assessment and certification system applicable to new, rehabilitated or renovated residential buildings, including single-family homes and block houses. It is also applicable to tertiary buildings, offices, and shopping centers both for new construction and for buildings in use, as well as in urban planning.

The BREEAM certifications can be grouped depending on the type of building in:
/ BREEAM New Construction
/ BREEAM Homes
/ BREEAM Urbanism
/ BREEAM in Use

BREEAM groups the criteria into 10 categories. Within each category there are a number of minimum requirements to be met and a number of extraordinary criteria.

Fields of action


Good practices for implementation, policies applied to construction management, operating manuals, environmental management system in construction.


Use of materials with a low environmental impact, reuse of existing buildings, responsible supply of materials, etc.

Health and Wellness

Thermal comfort, natural and artificial lighting, air quality, acoustics, etc


A fundamental tool for achieving ever higher levels of environmental sustainability.


Effective and appropriate management, encouraging the use of recycled products, rewarding internal/external storage space for recyclable and non-recyclable household waste, etc.


Use of refrigerants with low global warming potential, heating systems with low NOx emissions, noise and light pollution abatement, etc.


Location/location of the plot, alternative modes of transport, access to public transport, proximity to services, etc.


CO2 emissions, efficient lighting and installations, monitoring of energy consumption, etc.


Efficient devices for water consumption, water consumption monitoring, leak detection systems, water reuse and recycling, etc.

Land use and ecology

Reuse of previously developed/contaminated land, protection of ecologically valuable elements, generation of new habitats, etc.